Global Economy Prize

Logo: wissenschafftzukunft kiel
Logo: Landeshauptstadt Kiel
Weltwirtschaftlicher PreisGlobal Economy Prize
Logo: wissenschafftzukunft kiel

City & Sciences

Global Economy Prize

The Global Economy Prize is a distinction that has been awarded every year since 2005 by the Institute for Global Economy, the Schleswig-Holstein Chamber of Commerce and the Land Capital Kiel. It honours politicians, economists and companies that have earned merit as pioneers of a cosmopolitan society founded on the market economy.

Three Global Economic prize-medals
Global Economy Prize

The winners of the Global Economy Prize 2016 have been confirmed. Honored as pioneers of a cosmopolitan, economically liberal, and public-spirited society, this year´s laureates are:

Mario Monti, Italian economist and politican, former European Commissioner for Competition and Prime Minister of Italy;
Friede Springer, German publisher, majority shareholder and Vice Chairwoman of the Supervisory Board of Axel Springer SE.

The prize is designed to give an impetus to overcoming in a creative way the great global economic challenges in a dialogue between the various social groups.

The Global Economic prize is awarded during every Kiel Week at the end of June to a high-ranking politician, renowned economist and an outstanding firm – figures distinguished especially by their forward thinking and aptitude for communicating global economic solutions, their ability and readiness to enter into dialogue beyond the borders of their speciality, and their advocacy of a socially responsible society founded on personal accountability.

The Global Economy Prize:

Header photo: Christina Kloodt
Photo: Landeshauptstadt Kiel / Thomas Eisenkrätzer